Giveaway for our Readers and Fans of Nihonga

Hello,

We have a little giveaway for our readers and fans of Nihonga.

Please leave a message here with your name. And we will pick out 2 lucky winners to receive a 3000Bon T-shirt or Tote bag.

Rules for entry are simple:

 

Leave a comment in the comments section. Clearly stating your first name or nickname. Please let us know what you think of our Blog and if you have any messages for aspiring, young Nihonga artists.

 

 

While stocks last, we will try to accommodate your request for Tshirt sizing and apologise if we can’t.

There is no cost on your end meaning we even deliver it to your postal address, wherever it is.

The GIVEAWAY will open from 21 August 2013 – 31 August 2013. We will use a random generator to pick the lucky winners (with names and numbers assigned).

 

About 3000 Bon

3000 Bon or Sanzen bon Nikawa, literally means 3000 sticks. Usually made of animal glue, it refers to a type of binding glue Nihonga artists use in their artwork to make the pigments adhere to the painted surface. The manufacturers were said to be ceasing the manufacturing of this and since the announcement, has sent some into a buying frenzy or campaigns to “save 3000 Bon”. There exists however, other alternatives to this glue.

 

 

 

 

5 comments on “Giveaway for our Readers and Fans of Nihonga

  1. Jael says:

    My name is Jael. This Blog is a good source for information and introduction to Nihonga in english, which make it a unique space and also allows sharing and the birth of a community. It allow me to share with very interesting people and gave me another introductory guide about Nihonga materials and foreign artists that use them.

    I’m a aspiring nihonga artist myself, this techniques and materials are so precious and sofisticated…I think its it very important to study about their origins, about their significance in japanese Fine Arts and for artists, how can we succeed in expresing such refined nuances in our own artworks and conect with its tradition to comunicate the world.

    I would like to help and support Nihonga100 in anything I can,
    than you!

  2. toranosuke says:

    Hello, my name is Travis. I don’t paint myself, I’m afraid, but I study art history and am particularly fond of neo-traditional work like Nihonga. It is so wonderful that there are still artists out there continuing to practice the traditional methods, and that there are artists dabbling and experimenting and exploring putting those traditional methods and media to use in new and different compositions. Nihonga pieces, when seen up close, in person, have a beauty that no acrylics or oils can match, in the flat, smooth, cleanliness of their colors and brushstrokes.

    Thanks so much for this blog, and I hope to get to try my hand at it someday, or just to visit a pigments shop, or the like. Best of luck to all aspiring artists out there! Ganbatte!

  3. pcNielsen says:

    Paul here, trying to learn nihonga on the prairies of the United States. Very few resources here, and this blog is one of the few great places I’ve found information about this beautiful medium I’m trying to dip my finger into.

  4. Yana Poppe says:

    Hello. I would like to take this opportunity to say that I am a fond reader of this blog. I enjoy reading the interviews with Nihonga artists. It’s also an informative blog and that’s useful to me, because for my paintings I use the materials used for Nihonga painting.

  5. Fumiyo Fukushima says:

    Hello,Bon jour,Konnichiwa from Tokyo Japan
    My name is Fumiyo. Three years ago,I met a wonderful nihonga artist.
    Since then,I take his lesson once a month.
    Next summer I’m going to have an exhibition with my friends for the first time.
    I also study English and French .Through this blog,I can learn both art and langage.
    It’s very surprising and happy to know that a lot of people around the world love nihonga !
    Thank you so much for Nihonga blog!!!

Leave a Reply

